Making a linoprint bitmap typeface

Recently I’ve started to create some basic linoprint bitmap typefaces. As you may know I print a lot of my greetings cards by hand and they are, almost exclusively these days, made up of type. When I started putting my Christmas Cards together this year I thought I’d look at digitalising my linoprint alphabet so that I could do more with my designs, and create them much more efficiently. I didn’t want to use any old typeface, or loose the handprinted look, so thought I’d have a bit of a play and make one of my own.

Firstly I created a caps typeface similar to the style of type on my greetings card:

This is the linoprint…

DSC_0632-yellow

…that created the text on my digitally printed Christmas cards.

DSC_0303

This week I made a new typeface with caps and lowercase letters to use on some quote artwork I’ve been asked to create. Here’s some photos of the process.

Draw the alphabet on to the lino, and cut round the edges with a craft knife.

IMAG0929

Cut the lino around the letters. This can be a bit tiring on the hands and fingers, so I like to have lots of rest breaks to take some sexy macro photos! As you can see I often get carried away.

IMAG0930

IMAG0931

IMAG0933

IMAG0937

Inking and printing. Then a few days to dry.

IMG_20130805_031407

IMAG0951

Once dry I scan the print. I don’t have any fancy font creating software, so I simply adjust the brightness and contrast on the file and delete the background. I then create a single file for each letter by copying and pasting from the main document. I make each single letter file in to a bitmap (.bmp) file. Once this is dropped into InDesign I can colour the letter how ever I like if i select it using the white arrow. It’s means it’s a little bit tricky to set the text as images rather than a proper font, but as I’m only using is for limited amounts of text it’s not too bad.

IMG_20130816_111749

Now all that’s left to do is have a play about on screen. I’ll show you the finished creations once they’re ready.

IMG_20130816_122902

kim-signature

black-stripe

Logo-KO-small

Buy Knockout linoprints, illustrations and greetings cards online

Buy Knockout pillows, iPhone cases and prints through Society 6

One response to Making a linoprint bitmap typeface

  1. Linoprint typeface – quote artwork | thisisknockout

    […] Friday 13 September was Roald Dahl Day, so I put together some quote artwork for the Roald Dahl literary estate to use on their social media channels. It was created using a lino print alphabet which I turned into a bitmap font, you find out how I made the typeface on an earlier post. […]

What do you think? Leave your comment below

