New project; making a woodcut

Making a woodcutEarlier this year I bought some Japanese plywood and some new cutting tools to experiment with. I usually use a soft-cut lino for printing and have been waiting for a project to try out the wood block with. Today I decided to put it off no longer and began carving one of my life drawing sketches into it. Once I had got my head around the fact that I had to go with the grain I began to get the hang of it. It’s a little bit rough around the edges so may need a bit of a smooth down before I print anything from it. I’ll let you know how it goes!

Making a woodcutMaking a woodcut

Making a woodcut

 

 

 

What do you think? Leave your comment below

