Using up my crafty leftovers

Over the past year I have linoprinted tonnes of cards, most with simple sayings on to square cream or manilla card blanks. Inevitably some go wrong; they move in the press or I over ink the lino – sometimes it takes a few test prints to get them looking good.  Because of this I have ended up with a stack of miss-prints in the cupboard,  just sitting there waiting for me to do something (anything!) with.

I had finished a run of cards on Friday and added a couple more miss-prints to the pile when the idea struck me to cut the individual letters out of the cards. I have produced enough designs to have nearly the entire alphabet so made them into a little artwork using a song lyric that has been going round and round my head over the last few weeks:

Ok, so It looks not unlike a ransom note, but I really like it. The fact that I know where all the little letters have come from and that I have breathed new life into the poor little cards destined for the recycling bin means I have a soft spot for it! It also gave me hours of fun taking photos of it, which I think came out really well.

What do you think of my re-used art? If you create crafty things, do you do anything inventive with the leftovers?!

One response to Using up my crafty leftovers

What do you think? Leave your comment below

