Handmade Makers Market’s ‘Getting to Know You Challenge’

Today I’m participating in Handmade Makers Market’s ‘Getting To Know You Challenge’. They love handmade and believe in shopping local and direct from the makers, crafters and designers themselves and so do I. Find out more about the Handmade Makers Challenge and answer the questions for yourself here.

 

First up, give us a quick introduction, who are you, what do you do?
My name’s Kim, I run a little company called Knockout and create linoprints, illustrations, cards and gifts.

 

Kim Osborne - Knockout

Me!

Give us one unusual or surprising fact about yourself, something we wouldn’t expect!
I can clap with one hand. Seriously.

What are the 5 words that best describe you?
Colourful, thoughtful, fun, enthusiastic, fidgety.

 
What do you make? Perhaps you are you a crafter or designer? Is it a hobby or a business? Perhaps you make something less tangible, like happiness or connections between people?
I make hand-cut and hand-pressed linoprints on my home made scissor jack press. At the moment I am concentrating of a range of landmark prints; Tower Bridge, St Paul’s, that sort of thing, and really enjoying getting better and better at my craft. I also print cards, have a range of guitar illustrations, badges and tote bags, and some extra special voucher gift sets.

London landmark linoprints

One of my London Landmark prints

Describe your normal day (if you have such a thing!)
I work part-time running my business, so if I’m not doing this I’m working at The Roald Dahl Museum and Story Centre in Great Missenden, as a PR and Marketing officer. When I am working at home, my day is divided between working on the computer; creating designs, updating my blog and listings, getting stuck in to a bit of social media and promotion, and processing orders, that sort of this. My favourite time though is spent in the workroom, cutting lino, printing and creating new stuff and photographing what I’m up to!

 

Home-made printing press

My home-made printing press

Where are you happiest?
Traveling somewhere new, preferably in the sun.

 
What the best piece of advice you’ve ever been given?
Be generous, and enjoy what you have.

 
What talent are you most proud of and why?
I can make things look really good, which is nice! I’m also pretty good at staying calm under pressure and getting things done which comes in handy too.

 

What would you like to be better at and why?
I like to be better at singing (or any good at all really).

 
What would you like to have more of and why?
Patience; I love to get things finished and I’m constantly telling myself to slow down and enjoy.

 
If you could be given any gift what would it be?
I would really love a big, fully kitted-out printing studio please!

 
If you could give any gift to anyone, what would you give and to whom?
Picking gifts is hard at the best of times! I take ages to choose them and then worry about whether the person will like it or not. So I’m just going to say handmade cake for everyone. Everyone loves cake right?

 
What’s the next big thing you’re looking forward to in your life?
I’m looking forward to Christmas. I’ve got lots of new products and great craft fairs coming up. My hand-printed Christmas cards will be featured in this year’s Not on The High Street catalogue so there will be lots of challenges and opportunities ahead.

 
What’s the item your house that makes you smile the most, maybe it’s a piece of artwork or furniture or maybe a secret culinary ingredient, cd or dvd?
I’m thinking about what makes me smile as I walk round the house and all I can think of is my signed copy of Roger Moore’s autobiography: My Word is My Bond’. You can’t think of Roger Moore without smiling, especially when you remember queuing up for and hour and a half to meet him. It wasn’t so long ago and he still had that cheesy, suave quality about him.

Roger Moore book signing

See – makes you smile

What do you think? Leave your comment below

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 834 other followers

