Figure drawing (first time in a long time!)

Series of warm-up 1 minute sketches - figure drawingI’m returning to figure drawing for the first time since art school. Last week I went to my first lesson at the Fusion Arts Centre in Oxford. Having not attempted this in around 10 years, I was slightly apprehensive – worried that what I would create would be rubbish and not worthy of a blog post – but I think I did OK. I am going again tonight, and hopefully many Friday nights after that, so expect to see improvement over the coming weeks! What do you think?

Series of warm-up 1 minute sketches - figure drawing

Some of the one minute warm up sketches – I had forgotten how to get the main shape down quickly but got better the more I did.

The first pose - figure drawing

The two hour class consisted of two poses – this is the first. I still felt a bit uptight drawing this, and I think it shows.

Half way through the second pose - figure drawing

Half way through the second pose – starting to find my way. Hmm what are those colouring pencils doing there…

Finished second drawing - figure drawing

That’s what. I have never used colouring pencils whilst figure drawing before, but enjoyed using them for my self-portrait a few weeks ago. For the rest of the images I had been using charcoal pencils which are much heavier and easily smudged.

I was quite pleased with the outcome of this first class. I will keep you posted on how I do. Do you have anything you have returned to after a long hiatus – how did you find you got on when you tried it again? Would love to hear from you.

What do you think? Leave your comment below

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 832 other followers

